Science & Technology

  • The “South Asia satellite” for use by countries of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) region will be launched on 5th May 2017.
    • Important Points to Note :
      • During the 2014 SAARC summit that held in Nepal, the plan for the satellite was announced and subsequently all SAARC countries have joined it except Pakistan.
      • Hence, the beneficiaries of the satellite will be Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Maldives.
    • Dubai government today announced the launch of “Dubai Font“, the world’s first typeface developed by Microsoft for a city.
      • The font will be available in 23 languages to users of Office 365.
      • Dubai’s Crown Prince, Hamdan bin Mohammed al-Maktoum, has urged all government institutions to adopt the font in official correspondence.

ElonMusk-led aerospace startup SpaceX today successfully launched a spy satellite into orbit for the US military.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *