IPL 2016 Final: Sunrisers Hyderabad’s win

Sunrisers Hyderabad celebrate after winning its first IPL title.

Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight runs to win their maiden Indian Premier League title.

Virat Kohli during IPL Twenty20 final match between RCB and Sunrisers Hyderabad in Bengaluru. Photo : Bhagya Prakash K

Virat Kohli own 973 runs and the ‘Orange Cap’  and Kohli said: “It is a nice incentive, but it does not feel good to be at the other side of the result. Why Sunrisers won is because they have a strong bowling attack. I knew I was hitting the ball well and I just wanted to keep contributing. Why not, records are meant to be broken.”

Here is the full list of award winners and important statistics from

IPL 2016 Champions – Sunrisers Hyderabad.
Prize money – Rs 15 crore
Runner-up – Royal Challengers Bangalore.
Prize money – Rs 10 crore
Orange Cap (Most runs) – 973 runs (16 innings) – Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
Purple Cap (Most wickets) – 23 wickets (17 innings) – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
Emerging Player – 17 wickets – Mustafizur Rahman (SRH)
Man of the match in final – Ben Cutting (SRH)
Most Sixes in the final – 8 – Chris Gayle (RCB)
Most Valuable Player – Kohli (356.5 points)
Fairplay Award – SRH
Most Sixes – 38 – Kohli

About IPL:

IPL, which stands for Indian Premier League, is one of the most popular cricketing events in India, which is awaited and watched all over the country and the world by avid cricket fans every year. The event, which was started in 2008 by the BCCI, is played in T20 format of the game and is contested between franchisee teams from various cities, which are currently eight in number. Commercially, it is one of the most successful and lucrative sporting events in the country, with its brand value reaching a whopping US $ 3.2 billion. Till date, eight IPL events have been organized in India and the ninth one is running in 2016.